End of an Era…or 2016

I cannot believe that 2016 is already over. I’m starting to understand what I hear older adults saying by time just flying by. The years really do seem to be getting shorter and shorter. This year has been one of the craziest to date and even through all its ups and downs I wouldn’t change a thing.  

One of the coolest parts of the year really highlights my nerdy nature. I was lucky enough to represent the significant research findings from a study I got to work on while I was in university. That experience was both terrifying and exhilarating. It was so much fun seeing all the hard work we had put into that experiment come to life and give us tangible, meaningful results.

Another huge milestone from this past year was that I finally, after what seemed like forever, graduated from university with my Bachelor’s degree. After what seemed like hiccup after hiccup and health setback after health setback, I finally got that piece of paper. I finally got that day where I was able to stand tall and proud as I walked across the stage in front of my family and friends and accepted the degree I had worked so hard to achieve. That day will forever go down as one of the proudest days of my life. 

One way this year has been different from years past is probably one of the most “oh my gosh I really am an adult now” moments; I’ve had friends get married. Now I know that getting married isn’t a crazy thing. If anything, getting married is an awesome, wonderful, fantastic thing. For me though, it just feels crazy that I’ve reached that point in my life where people I went to school with, my friends, are ready for that huge step. It’s just another awesomely scary, fantastically crazy part of this year. 

One of the “wow I really am an adult” moments this year occurred when I got my first “big girl” job. After months and months of applying to hundreds of jobs, I apologize to all the job websites that had to endure my incessant applications by the way, I finally got a job. At first, the position was only offered to me as a casual position but after some time it was offered to me as a permanent position and I was ecstatic. The job security this permanent position afforded me was a huge load off my shoulders; not to mention that wonderful thing I’ve so desperately missed called health insurance. 

This year has also been a year full of personal growth. I’ve learned to accept help from a wide range of sources. I’ve found amazing mentors who teach invaluable lessons and offer insightful advice in all areas of life: fitness, health, work, relationships, and so on. From all these people I’ve learned so much and can’t wait to learn more and use what I’ve learned through the rest of my life.  

Above all, the best part of this past year has been the time spent with my family. We are definitely a bunch of loud, fun-loving, hilarious, crazy people, and I wouldn’t change that for the world. We’ve gone on trips together all over the place, just us exploring the world. I truly cherish those amazing moments where there’s just me with the people I love experiencing life. I’ve finally learned that life isn’t about the big moments, it’s about enjoying the little moments with those you love.  

Thank you 2016 for the fun, memories, and lessons. I can’t wait to dive in 100% and see what 2017 has to offer.  

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

