New Year New Challenge: 365 day food and fitness journey

2017 is the year, I can feel it. I am too guilty of tiptoeing into a challenge or new health and fitness regime but bailing out the second it gets difficult and I think I’ve honed in on why that is. Prior to now, I’ve had no accountability. Whenever I’ve failed on a fitness goal in the past, the only person I’ve had to answer to has been myself. And in all honesty, having to only answer to myself for my shortcomings has definitely been the easy way out. Denial is crystal clear proof of this method of inaction. Whenever I fall short there’s always some logical “to me” reason for why that is. Obviously those excuses are the ones everyone comes up with: I’m too busy, it’s too hard, I don’t need it right now, etc. But truth be told, all of that is bullshit. In the past, if I’d have wanted it bad enough, I’d already be on my way. Now thankfully, I’ve reached bullshit bottom. I am done making excuses for things that don’t need excuses. I am done feeling so tired and unhappy with my body. I am done not having the energy I crave and know I can achieve. I am done wanting and not being willing to work for it. Now is the time to buckle down. 2017 is going to be the year of me. 

Now by saying “the year of me” I’m not saying I’m going to suddenly become an egocentric, self-centred, horrible person. What I mean is that I am going to focus on myself, for myself, and for everyone else. It’s not rocket science to notice that when we aren’t happy or in a good place we don’t give our best selves to the world around us. When I’m tired or unhappy I’m just giving off that vibe to everything around me and I detest it. I don’t want to be this unhappy, annoyed by the smallest thing type of person but somehow I’ve gotten to this place and I want to be rid of it. In giving myself this time to get to the core of my displeasure within myself and taking the time to fix it is going to benefit not only myself but as well those around me. 

If you’ve read my past posts you know I’m all about getting all the help I can. I am all about getting resources that could help me from wherever I can find it. The trick however is sticking with it. I have access to all these resources and I sometimes get complacent with them and let them fall to the wayside and in turn this derails my goals. No more. I am making sure I am using all my resources like clockwork; whether it be writing down what I’ve eaten and then putting it into my food journal, or writing out my workouts and checking them off as I follow through.  

Accountability, being the issue it has been for me in the past, is the aspect of myself I am going to be working on the hardest in this coming year. To work through this and remain focused on my goals I am going to be doing a 365 food, exercise, and life diary. Every day I will be posting my food and fitness work to keep myself accountable to all of you. This is my community and together we can really work to achieve our goals. Not going to lie, this does feel totally crazy for me but it feels so right. It feels like the perfect time for me to just take the plunge and jump right in. I want 2017 to be the year of no regrets. I want to be able to say I’ve done everything to help myself be the best version of me possible. I’m so excited to see where this journey takes me and want to take you along on this crazy ride with me. 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

