Day 1: Sunday January 1 2017

As per usual, the new year has started off with a bang. It was a crazy busy day getting ready for family to come over. I love having family dinners because my family is always a bet for a good time. Family is such an important part of my life that it’s wonderful that I’m fortunate enough to be able to see them often and get to start my year off with them. 

The problem with family get togethers and special occasions is that there is always too much delicious, and too often unhealthy, food within arms reach. This time I was really focused on listening to my body and letting it tell me if I was really hungry or if I just wanted to eat because everything looked and smelled delicious. Let me tell you, that was a huge help. I made sure to just sit and really think of whether or not I wanted to eat something because I was truly hungry. Another big help was that I made sure I was hydrated. I’ve read far too often that when you think you’re hungry it’s simply because you’re dehydrated. By keeping hydrated, I filled up on water and reasonable portion sizes rather than getting overfilled on the decadent holiday food. 

I noticed something from not overeating today too; since I wasn’t too full on food, I didn’t feel that too full and gross to move feeling. Because I actually felt human and not like a stuffed to the brim piñata I actually had the energy to workout. Granted I was too busy to workout this morning because I was getting ready for our family visit so I was a little tired by the end of the day I still felt nice and awake and energetic enough for a workout. I have noticed though that working out in the morning does feel better and gives me more energy for the rest of the day so I’ll see if I can work that out from now on when I can. Since it’s a new workout regimen and I’m just getting back into things I’ve decided to start slow and slowly build up but it feels great just having a workout, no matter how small. 

Accountability:

Now for the accountability aspect of my challenge. I have written down everything I ate throughout the day and the calorie and macronutrient breakdown to see where I’m at and where I need to improve. I’ve also included my workout to keep myself on track. 

Breakfast:

~ancient grains raspberry muffin (380 calories, 13g fat, 61g carbs, 6g protein, 370mg sodium, 7g fibre, 29g sugar) 

~coffee (1 cup, 2 calories, 0.3g protein, 4.7mg sodium)

~1% milk (1 fluid ounce, 12 calories, 0.3g fat, 1g protein, 15.6mg sodium, 1.5g sugar)

Snack: 

-Royal Gala apple ( 154g, 22g carbs, 106 calories, 5g fiber, 16g sugar) 

-coffee (1 cup, 2 calories, 0.3g protein, 4.7mg sodium)

~1% milk (1 fluid ounce, 12 calories, 0.3g fat, 1g protein, 15.6mg sodium, 1.5g sugar)

Dinner:

-turkey 4oz (150 calories, 8g fat, 1g carbs, 22g protein)

-mashed potatoes (0.5 cup, 107 calories, 4.4g fat, 15.7g carbs, 1.7g protein, 1.2g sugar)

-chicken stuffing (0.5 cup, 1g fat, 21g carbs, 4g protein, 1g fibre, 2g sugar) 

-broccoli (1 cup, 70 calories, 0.6g fat, 10g carbs, 4.2g protein, 3.8g fibre, 2.5g sugar)

-asparagus (1 cup, 27 calories, 0.2g fat, 5g carbs, 3G protein, 2.8g fibre, 2.5g sugar)

-Extra virgin olive oil (for vegetables) (2tsp, 80 calories, 9g fat, 0g carbs, 0g protein, 0g fibre, 0g sugar)

-Balsamic vinegar(for vegetables) (1tbsp, 14 calories, 0g fat, 2.7g carbs, 0.1g protein, 0g fibre, 2.4g sugar) 

-garlic (for vegetables) (1tbsp, 5 calories, 0g fat, 0g carbs, 0g protein, 0g fibre, 0g sugar) 

Workout 

-30 squats

-Kayla Itsines 7 minute workout: 15 bent leg jackknives, 15 straight leg raises with lift, 15 ab bikes, 15 cross mountain climbers, 15 snap jumps, 15 sit-ups with reach, 15 tuck jumps 

  • Nutrition tracking via My Fitness Pal app

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

