Day 4: Wednesday January 4, 2017

Winter has officially arrived. Walking to work today was more like a dangerous trek through the arctic. Now it wasn’t so much that it was cold as it was that the sidewalk was pure ice. Every step I took up the hill on my way to work I was praying I didn’t slip and fall into traffic. Thankfully the worst part of the walk was my “trying really hard not to fall from slipping on the ice” dance that all the rush hour traffic drivers on their way to work got to witness.  

Work as usual, was work. Always tons to do and never enough time to do it all in but on the bright side that always makes things go by quickly. I was on a productivity tear today and managed to write at lunch time instead of my usual brain idea blockages that always come at the worst times. 

On my way home from work I made sure to do my proofreading so I wouldn’t have to do it late at night like I did last night. While I read I made sure to listen to my favourite podcasts to keep my motivation and alertness high. My podcasts always manage to give me that little wake up jolt I need. Because I was feeling really rushed after work I cheated and bought my dinner. I love Subway for dinner when I’m in a rut or rush. I always pile on so many vegetables my sub gets mistaken for a vegetable garden. 

I had a really great workout today too; not sure if it’s because I was so happy to be inside instead of out in that cold winter air or because I had a delicious cup of coffee beforehand. I’ve noticed these past few days that working out is giving me more energy. Even though I’m getting tired after my workout, the next day when I wake up I’m not dragging myself out of bed. I’m finding that I have more energy to just get up, feeling rested, and start my day off on the right foot.  

I can definitely see how a healthy lifestyle is something one wants to keep up. Staying motivated is key to keep this up and I can attest to the fact that if this endorphin feeling keeps up, this trend is going to keep going in the right direction. I can’t wait to see where this journey takes me. 

Breakfast

-English muffin (130 calories, 1g fat, 27g carbs, 4g protein, 2g fibre, 1g sugar)

-coffee (1 cup, 2 calories, 0g fat, 0g carbs, 0.3g protein, 0g fibre, 0g sugar)

-1% milk (1oz., 12 calories, 0.3g fat, 0g carbs, 1g protein, 0g fibre, 1.5g sugar)

-white chocolate peanut spread (192 calories, 12g fat, 9g carbs, 12g protein, 2g fibre, 4g sugar)

-no sugar added strawberry, raspberry, plum jam (1tbsp, 20 calories, 5g carbs, 0g fibre, 4g sugar) 

Lunch

-spring salad mix (2 cups, 20 calories, 3G carbs, 2g protein, 1g fibre)

-red onion (9g, 4 calories, 1g carbs)

-red pepper (100g, 27 calories, 0.2g fat, 6.3g carbs, 1g protein, 0.9g fibre)

-craisins (1tbsp, 24 calories, 6.2g carbs, 0.6g fibre, 5.4g sugar)

-salad topping Mediterranean blend (2tbsp, 70 calories, 4.5g fat, 4g carbs, 3g protein, 1g fibre, 3g sugar)

-zesty Italian salad dressing (1tbsp, 30 calories, 3g fat, 1g carbs, 0.1g protein, 1g sugar)

-strawberry yogurt (100g, 35 calories, 5g carbs, 4g protein, 4g sugar)

-green grapes (100g, 66 calories, 0.1g fat, 15.4g carbs, 0.4g protein, 0.7g fibre, 15.4g sugar)

-baby carrots (0.8cup, 40 calories, 9g carbs, 1g protein, 2g fibre, 3g sugar)

-pineapple (100g, 50 calories, 0.1g fat, 13g carbs, 0.5g protein, 1.4g fibre, 10g sugar)

Dinner

-1 foot long sweet onion chicken teriyaki sub (740 calories, 9g fat, 114g carbs, 50g protein, 10g fibre, 32g sugar) 

Food tracking provided by My Fitness Pal

Workout

-100 crunches 

-100 heel touches 

-50 reverse crunches 

-100 leg lifts per leg

-100 lateral kicks per leg

-60 squats

-23 minute run

-15 minute walk 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

