Day 9: Monday January 9, 2017

Aaaand just like that the weekend is over. We really should make the three-day weekend a thing. I always try to get as much done on the weekend as I can but it never seems to be enough time. 

Morning Musings

I’m not sure how hectic this week is going to be but if so far has been an indication it’s going to be another crazy one. Since I always feel so strapped for time I try to make the most out of my commutes. This morning on my way to work I did some writing and made sure to listen to some podcasts. What I do on the bus on my way to work varies depending on how I feel that day. Some mornings I just need to crank some tunes and dance in my seat and other days I just really want to learn something. 

Work Woes

Some days work is just blah. For me, today was absolutely that day. Granted I don’t really like my job and that in itself makes going to work difficult but today was particularly a drag. It’s difficult showing up day after day to a job I don’t feel passionate about. I can’t wait for the day I am proud of my job and the work I am doing. Unfortunately, in my current job environment day after day is definitely negatively affecting me. I can feel it in my mood, work, and sleep habits.  

Counteract the Crap

Since my work is so draining, I try to boost my energy and happiness in other areas of my life. Now more than ever I find it essential to find time in my schedule to workout. With my mood dipping the way it is I require the endorphins and other positive effects from exercise even more. I also find it incredibly important to maintain my human connections. I’m finding it crucial to talk to my friends and loved ones daily just to make sure I don’t get overwhelmed by the negativity I receive daily at work. Even more, I’m finding watching my food intake absolutely critical. Because it’s known that negative life events and stressful situations affect our bodies in such negative ways, I find it so important to make sure I’m eating healthy. By eating healthy and making sure I’m getting in all my vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients, I can try and counteract the negativity that surrounds me. 

The Honesty Police

I know that’s a bit of a downer but I needed to be honest. Even with a good job, a pension, a house, wonderful friends, and a wonderful family it is ok to not feel ok. Just because everything is coming up roses doesn’t mean you have to be happy. I’m learning this and that it’s ok. It’s hard to accept this and feel such unease and annoyance with myself for feeling this way but it’s important to realize that it’s allowed. I am allowed to not be ok. As long as I continue to work on myself and try my best no matter how I am, I am allowed to be imperfect.

Today’s Lesson

Today’s taught me to allow myself to accept the bad feeling. It’s ok to have days feeling bad and not all sunshine. What’s important is taking these days and learning and growing through them so that there will be less of them in the future. 

Workout

-walk 20 minutes 

-run 20 minutes 

Food tracking done with My Fitness Pal





Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

