Woman Crush Wednesday 6: Lauren Graham 

So if you know me you know I’m a huge fan of Gilmore Girls. That show was a big part of my life growing up. It was so funny back then, my mom and I getting compared to them by so many of my friends. Just like Rory Gilmore, I was the girl with her head in her books with a cup of coffee in her hand. My mom, much like Lorelei Gilmore is fast as a whip, witty, tenacious, determined, and all around amazing. 

Lauren Graham was always the best part of Gilmore Girls. I love the way she could talk at the speed of light and not even get out of breath; probably because I suffer a similar affliction. I also feel a little bit of a kindred spirit to her character for our ever so true love of coffee. It honestly feels like coffee is a character on that show, the sidekick to the dynamic duo, the lesser known Gilmore Girl if you will.  

I appreciate Lorelei Gilmore’s role even more because of how imperfect a character she is. Throughout the series she makes mistakes, some could be considered just plain stupid mistakes but I believe that in her making these mistakes, she becomes more personable and relatable for us who are watching. 

As a daughter of a single mom, I also on some level appreciate her role from a daughter’s point of view. I appreciate how she for the most part lets Rory make her own decisions but for some crucial decisions she steps in and puts her foot down.  

My mom and I have a very similar relationship. That’s probably why I like this show so much. My mom is the most important person in my life. Whenever I have a big decision to make she’s the first one I go to. When I was younger, she would allow me to make my own decisions for a large percentage of things but on the crucial important things she would “pull the mom card” and for that I am very grateful.  

Thank you Lauren Graham for being that witty, fast-talking, coffee chugging , movie referencing queen for being a welcome face on my tv and what I suspect a glimpse at what my future is going to look like. 

Book- Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham https://www.amazon.ca/gp/aw/d/0425285170/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1486002100&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=talking+as+fast+as+i+can&dpPl=1&dpID=51JqQOlLTjL&ref=plSrch

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

