What the End of 24 Means to Me

Day 218: Sunday August 6, 2017

Happy Sunday everyone! Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend, whether at work or enjoying some time off. Today marks day two of my family weekend trip and it was another crazy one. 

Today started off bright and early, as most trip days do. I think it’s the feeling of a new and unfamiliar environment and excitement that gets me up so early. I never really need to sleep in on trip days. I’m always too excited and ready to start the next adventure that sleep doesn’t come easily. 

With the morning starting early it makes it easier to get the fun underway. Today was a mixed bag of activities and never a dull moment. But full disclosure, this weekend was not a shining example of good eating habits on my part. I am aware that vacation usually means food habits get off track and this could go one of two ways. 1. I could get all bogged down on how, let’s face it, crappy I’ve eaten this weekend, and have this throw my whole effort and momentum off track. Or, 2. I can acknowledge that I’ve made bad decisions, track how far off my goal I’ve gotten, and plan how I’m going to get back where I want to be. The important thing is to not get discouraged and keep your eye on the goal. And most important, remember why you started. Remembering why you started makes it a lot easier to keep going when you just want to quit. 

I just can’t believe today is my last day of being 24. All day I kept thinking back on this year and how crazy it’s been. There have been so many adventures, trips, ups, downs, and new experiences. I got my first “big girl” job. I got serious about this blog. I got into learning as much as I can about starting a business. I’ve taken up learning every day to help myself become the healthiest and happiest version of myself so that I can give that good back to everyone around me. 

If 24 has taught me anything it has taught me patience. Life is a wonderful thing and wants the best for you. Your job is to do everything in your power to bring about what you want in life; this includes not getting discouraged when things don’t go your way. Having a positive mindset is so important and it can be tricky to keep it that way but once it’s started, it’s a lot easier to keep it that way. Patience with time is important, patience with yourself is even more important. Like I said, beating yourself up when you mess up is such an easy default way of thinking but it doesn’t help us in any way. Instead, try being patient with yourself. Know that you’re an awesome, wonderful, hard working person. You are human, so it is inevitable that you make mistakes. What is important is how you rise up after the challenges and conquer them to better yourself and move forward towards your goals. 

Today was a wonderful day. I was able to spend my last day as a 24 year old with my family in a different city on an adventure. I’m so thankful for everything that’s happened this past year. I’m so thankful for the friendships I’ve made, the challenges I’ve conquered, the lessons I’ve learned, and how much I’ve grown. I cannot wait to see what 25 has in store. Hope everyone has a wonderful week ahead. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

