I’m Now a Member of the Quarter Century Club

Day 219: Monday August 7, 2017

Happy Monday everyone! I’m sending out all the good vibes and hoping everyone’s had a fantastic day today because it’s MY BIRTHDAY!!!!

I cannot believe I’m already 25 years old, or as I’m calling it now, Level 25 (sounds way cooler doesn’t it). It feels like it was honestly yesterday when I’d just started university still unsure of what I wanted to do in life. But here I am today, now 25 years old working in an amazing career and writing this blog working on one day turning it into a business. It’s absolutely crazy how much life changes even from one year to the next. I can’t wait to see what this year has in store. 

Today was a crazy busy day full of fun, family, and delicious food; I really couldn’t ask for a better birthday. The day started with my family and us heading home from our awesome and productive weekend away. I was so glad I was able to spend that weekend with my family; sightseeing, traveling, adventuring, eating, and oh so much laughing. With my family no matter where we are we are always laughing and really I wouldn’t want it any other way (and laughing burns calories right? Just go with it guys it’s my birthday, just agree with me).

When we finally got home it was honestly just enough time to drop off our bags from the trip and head right back out again. For my birthday I wanted to be a tourist in my own city and explore so that’s just what we did. I love exploring my city. As you guys know I’ve lived here my whole life but it seems like almost every time I go out for an event or something I find something new I’ve never seen before. I love the variety my city offers. There are endless options for museums, restaurants, festivals, events, there’s really something for everyone. 

Today I went to the Mosaïcanada150 event. This was an exhibit of nature and artistry at its best. There were shrubs and trees of all shapes and sizes shaped into a range of objects from people to dragons to foxes and more. It was just fascinating to see how simple plants could go from simple nature to such beautiful artwork. I was walking around the exhibits and just marvelled at the beauty. I just couldn’t even imagine how the work could go from a mere concept to a gorgeous end product.

After observing the gorgeous botanical artwork we decided to just explore the market. It was so fun seeing local artwork and handmade goods from people in my own community. The imagination and creativity of people really is boundless. And being able to see these types of things in my own city makes it even more wonderful. 

I even got a fancy out of the country dinner (can you say Olive Garden). Because we don’t have Olive Garden in my city (insert sad face) I of course made sure to bring some home from our trip. The leftovers made it a perfect birthday dinner. The best part, it tasted just as delicious as it did in the restaurant. Now that was a perfect birthday dinner. Complete with a delicious decadent lemon tart (I went all out you guys because you know calories don’t count on birthdays; it’s a rule you can use me as a witness). 

And to top off this wonderful birthday we walked around for about 4 hours so I certainly got my cardio workout in for the day. Productive birthday? Check ✅. 

Hope everyone has had a wonderful day. I’m so grateful to have been given this life and be able to celebrate my birthday with friends and family and doing the things I enjoy. Take time every day to do something you love, even if it’s just one thing, don’t forget to have fun and make yourself smile. Cheers!

2 thoughts on “I’m Now a Member of the Quarter Century Club

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

